movies · Recap and Review

Wonder Woman!

I’m coming back from radio silence because I’ve got to talk about Wonder Woman for a minute.

It was everything I never knew I needed.  First, the vain stuff: I have adored Chris Pine since “Princess Diaries 2” and I’m not ashamed of it.  I even watched that weird movie he was in where he was a small town boy wanting to be a famous country singer.  That’s devotion right there (and 2 hours of my life that I will never, ever get back).  Anyway, I love him and his blue eyes and I may have swooned (on the inside, the theater was full) on more than one occasion.

As for everything else…this Wonder Woman character is everything that I strive to be. I’ll confess that I”m not into the comics, I don’t know the backstory and how all the DC Comics characters are related/linked, but this movie made me want to learn everything I possibly can.  But Wonder Woman…strong, knows that her purpose is to help others, independent, nurturing, but still able to motivate others to be the best they can be.  It got me thinking about how although I am 34 and still single (something that I’m okay with 99% of the time and generally pisses me off for that other 1%), I should not cave to any pressure from society.  Sure, my sweet grandmother talks about finding me a man, and my grandfather talks about when we’re going to get me married off and both of these things make me want to ram my head through a wall, I’m perfectly okay just the way I am.  I work hard, I pay my bills, I stand up for what I believe in, and I take care of my family and friends and would fight for them.  I told a friend just about a week ago that if the squad needed to get together and come at a man that had done her wrong, we could make it happen (I was only about 10% joking, as I normally try NOT to use the word “squad,” but it was appropriate).  Anyway…this was a movie that I would go see again in theaters in a heartbeat.  Life really is about what you believe.  🙂

 

My new favorite quote-

“I used to want to save the world, to end war and bring peace to mankind. But then I glimpsed the darkness that lives within their light. I learned that inside every one of them there will always be both. The choice each must make for themselves – something no hero will ever defeat. And now I know… that only love can truly save the world. So now I stay, I fight, and I give – for the world I know can be. This is my mission now, for ever.”

Leave a Reply

